Sidd from India

Name: Siddharth Solanki

Course: Psychology BSc

Hi! My name is Siddharth and I am a third year BSc Psychology student. I am from Mumbai, India which is the financial capital of India. It is probably more commonly known as the home of Bollywood.
 
When I am not in the library catching up on my reading or completing coursework, I report for Forge Press Sport and Forge Radio. Every Friday, I do a show on Forge Radio where I preview the weekend’s football action with a couple of my friends.
siddharth-solanki
Why did you choose to study your course?
Human behaviour has always intrigued me. Studying psychology gave me the perfect opportunity to learn more about behaviour and its several different aspects in greater depth. In addition to this, I have always wanted to work as a sports psychologist in a professional sports organisation. This course will provide me with an adequate foundation for  further studies in sports and exercise psychology. By the end of your undergraduate degree, you will have mastered several different skills that give you an opportunity to look for a job in multiple fields like HR, Marketing etc.
 

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

One thing that has made my university experience in Sheffield better is the Students’ Union. The Students’ Union is an integral part of my university experience. Our SU has hundreds of societies and there will be definitely be a society that caters to your interests.  I have had some unforgettable experiences and met some of my closest friends through events organised by societies which I have joined.
 

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

The University of Sheffield appealed to me because of its reputation. It also ranked high in student satisfaction which convinced me. The cherry on the cake was the city itself. It is absolutely beautiful and more importantly, very safe. It is a large city but feels like a small town which is a nice change for someone coming from a hectic and overwhelmingly busy city like Mumbai. 
Do you like living in Sheffield?
I absolutely love living in the Sheffield. This is a student’s dream city. It’s safe, it’s cheaper than most of the other cities in the UK, and it has a great night life. The university buildings are located in a prime location, within walking distance from the city centre and the student accommodation areas. I love football so the presence of two massive football clubs in the city allows me to go watch a match every other week.
 
What do you hope to do in the future?
In the near future, I want to get a masters degree in Sports and Exercise psychology.
In terms of work experience, I have been unable to get a job or internship in this particular field during university. However, I have managed to get other work experience. In second year, I worked at a shop called Chinese Fireworks selling fireworks to customers. I also volunteered at ‘Computer Club’ where I have spent time with autistic kids playing computer games every fortnight. These opportunities have taught me a very different set of skills that employers will look on favourably.

Leave a comment