Xin from China

xin-wen

Name:  Xin Wen                    

Course:  BSc Psychology

About me:

Hi! My name is Xin, and I am a second year BSc Psychology student. I am from Chengdu, the city of gastronomy and pandas. I can speak Mandarin and English, but I am also learning Japanese.

I like cats, alpacas, burgers from The Harley and bubble milk tea without the bubbles! In my spare time, I enjoy cooking (mostly weird experiments), going to gigs, travelling and zoning out.

Why did you choose to study your course?

When I came across the science of ‘happiness’, I was amazed by the studies into synthetic happiness which happens when people don’t get what they want. Psychology is full of counter-intuitive facts backed by controlled scientific experiments. The process of debating with received folk wisdom intrigued my passion for Psychology, my desire to understand myself and people around me. I believe it can help me to be happy and to achieve the qualities that I lack, such as self-assertiveness and self-compassion.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?
The University of Sheffield has the best Students’ Union in the UK and is dedicated to providing a great student experience, which I think is the most important thing at the undergraduate level. The Psychology department at the University of Sheffield carries out world-leading research with novel methodologies, such as virtual reality and computer programmes. It is one of the few Psychology departments in the UK that studies synthetic psychology – simulating human or animal behaviours using robots.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

The Students’ Union is a very efficient, helpful and liberal place to deal with my enquiries, to look for support and to just hang out with friends. There is always something going on at the University of Sheffield. The Give it A Go events provide students with a little taster for learning new things and innovative society activities, such as language classes and fencing. There are so many fun charity events to raise money for good causes: Spider Walk, Sleep Out in Solidarity, Bummit (charity hitch-hike), etc.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

Sheffield is a great city to live in. The cost of living is student-friendly and being next to Peak District, it is the greenest city in Europe including many plants that I’ve never seen in my home country. Sheffield is also a safe city, with the second lowest crime rate and a safe taxi scheme for students having a night out.

I enjoy going to the Alpaca Farm to feed those adorable farm animals, and it has become a must-go place whenever my friends visit me.

What do you hope to do in the future?

There are so many things I hope to do after university. I hope to do further study in cross-subject research. At the University of Sheffield, I have been able to hear many inspiring talks and science debates delivered by guest professors from other universities. The subjects include psychology of money, intoxicants & law. I found these topics fascinating and hope to study them in more detail.  Most importantly, I would like to apply positive psychological theories to my daily life to organise my work and emotions.
Leave a Reply

