Schenelle from Dubai (originally from India)

schenelle-dlima

Name: Schenelle Dlima

Course: Biomedical Science

Hi, my name is Schenelle and I am a third year Bsc Biomedical Science student. I live in Dubai, home of the tallest building and largest mall in the world, but I am from Mumbai, India. I can speak English and Hindi, and I am also currently improving my French.

I am an avid reader, movie buff and TV show fanatic. I love to explore new cities and try different cuisines. In my spare time, I like to volunteer through the opportunities provided by ‘Sheffield Volunteering’ at the Students’ Union. This involves visiting animal shelters, children hospitals, conversing with refugees etc.


Why did you choose to study your course?

During my final year in school, I discovered a newfound interest in scientific research after I realized the profound impact it has on people’s lives. So I decided to pursue a degree which would enable me to streamline into research later and at the same time keep my options open. Biomedical Science seemed like the perfect choice for this. The degree would help me gain vital laboratory experience and also hone other skills such as presentation skills, writing skills etc. This would enable me to pursue careers from forensic science to scientific journalism.
Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

The University of Sheffield is always at the forefront when it comes to scientific research and the prospect of being taught by some of the world’s leading researchers was exciting. There are also great module choices offered, from Bioinformatics to Stem cell research. It is one of the only universities in the UK that offers hands-on human dissection even for undergraduate students. The university has so much to offer, from its wonderful cultural diversity to great student support such as the Careers Service and also provided financial aid to international students in the form of scholarships.  All these factors helped me cement my decision to pursue my degree at this university.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

My favourite thing about the university is Sheffield Volunteering. Having no prior work experience, Sheffield Volunteering provided me a great platform to put myself out there, gain new skills and experiences and be part of an organization that positively contributes to the Sheffield community. The opportunities provided by Sheffield Volunteering cater to everyone’s interests and time constraints. I can experience so much, from cleaning the banks of a river to conversing with refugees. Getting involved with volunteering has been enriching and has definitely made my last two years in university more worthwhile.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

Coming from a bustling city like Dubai, living in a very laidback and green city such as Sheffield is really refreshing. Sheffield is an amazing place for students given its low cost of living and affordable accommodation. One of the best aspects of the city is its proximity to the Peak District National Park, a great place to enjoy a trek and soak in the beautiful surroundings. There is always something to do in the city, from shopping at the mall, which is called Meadowhall, to trying out different cuisines on London road. So whether you are a shopaholic, a nature-lover or a food fanatic, Sheffield is a city that caters to everyone’s interests.

What do you hope to do in the future?

After my final year, I wish to attain a place in a graduate scheme programme which is run by several pharmaceutical companies. I hope to work in a pharmaceutical company, but in a non-laboratory-based environment. Even though I intended to pursue a career in research before my first year, I realized that working in a laboratory was not my forte, and I was better in other aspects of the course, like writing essays and lab reports. My varied experiences during my course and my involvement in extra-curricular activities such as volunteering also helped me to realise this. The university has helped me to realise that the opportunities for a Sheffield graduate are endless and not just restricted to research. The Careers Service has helped me to gain valuable experiences improve my skills, from participating in the ‘Taste of Work’ and ‘Skills for work’ programmes and also guiding me in writing my CV. My experiences at the university have really influenced my career decisions.

Leave a comment