Rinu from India

rinu-melroy

Name: Rinu Melroy

Course: BSc Genetics

Hello there!! My name is Rinu Melroy and I am a third year BSc Genetics student. I am originally from Kerala which lies in the southern part of India but I have lived my childhood in many North Indian states. I can speak English, Hindi and Malayalam (mother tongue).

I am a person who loves to travel and explore new things. I try to make small trips around my city which also allows me to try out different local cuisines and who does not love food, right?

Why did you choose to study your course?

We live in a world where we open newspapers only to read about growing rate of diseases, especially cancer. There is more content on what’s causing the disease and not so much on how all of the research being carried out to cure them. While doing my A-levels, I got introduced to the concept of genetics and since then there is no turning back.  My curiosity lead me to take it up as my degree and to bring a change.
Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

Being brought up in India, a lot of the population are unaware of the field of molecular biology. There are only few organizations which recognizes the wide possibility of solutions to such deadly diseases. Upon research, I found out that University of Sheffield provides a specific course for genetics which is where my passion lies and believe I can contribute my maximum to the course. I want to open oncology clinics and biotechnology labs to give people more opportunities and broaden their understanding for this field. The specificity of degree and availability of such advanced services provided by the University of Sheffield, convinced me to pursue my dreams and vision over here.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

The University’s Student’s union has been voted as one of the best in UK and with no doubt I completely agree with that. The Students’ Union provides a large range of activities and societies. Programmes such as ‘Give it a go’ allowed me to try out different events. I was elected as the secretary of International Student’s committee which gave me a huge exposure to various cultures and to make many friends from different parts of world which has helped me grow into a better human being.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

With such an intensive course the city has helped me to relax. It is a student friendly town which makes it so much easier when you are an international student. There is always somebody to help you and in just few days you feel as if it’s home away from home. There are plenty of café’s and food joints around university which will keep your stomach happy.

What do you hope to do in the future?

I was given an opportunity to work with GE healthcare in India and I am hoping to spend some time with them after finishing my undergraduate degree. After which I would like to pursue a Masters and become involved in more research.
Leave a Reply

