Melody from Hong Kong

melody-chu

Name: Man Yee (Melody) Chu

Course: Chemistry

Hello! I am Melody from Hong Kong. I am a third year BSc Chemistry student. I can speak English, Cantonese and Mandarin.  I like learning new interests during my free time. I love ballet the most. I go to ballet classes every week when I am in Sheffield. Also I have had a fun time in the Nail Art society when I was in 1st year. Then I became a committee member in Nail Art society in 2nd year which gave me lots of experience I haven’t had before such as holding tutorials and promoting the society to others.

Why did you choose to study your course?

I’ve been interested in chemistry ever since I started learning it at 15 years old. I was lucky to have a good chemistry teacher in high school. She helped me a lot and taught me in an interesting way which made me have more and more passion on this subject. My early experiences made me want to become a forensic chemist so I chose to do a chemistry degree course in university.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

I decided to study in University of Sheffield since the ranking in the chemistry course in 2012 was 10th. I felt I would have a great learning experience in the University of Sheffield. I had a look at the chemistry department website where there is lots of details about the course and I found out that I would have a small tutorial and would meet a personal tutor regularly. I also had the choice to apply to have a mentor in my first year, which would make me feel less worried when I have any questions to ask. The University of Sheffield also has a very good research ranking and was recommended by my tutor.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

My favourite thing is that there are a lot of societies at the University of Sheffield. Sometimes I will join the ‘Give It A Go’ events which are offered by societies. Give It A Go allows you try the classes or activities held by a society first before to help you decide whether you want to join it. Taking part in societies lets me have more fun in university apart from studying and I can meet more new friends who have same interests as I do.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

I lived in the university accommodation (Ranmoor) in my first two years and I liked it a lot. The environment around Ranmoor is nice and quiet. It is convenient to be able to go to supermarkets by 15 min walk. Also I can go jogging in the Endcliffe Park which is near to Ranmoor.I also like the city centre in Sheffield as there are many events taking place all the time such as food markets, performances and games. There are different kind of shops in the city centre which I can walk around during the weekend.

What do you hope to do in the future?

I hope to be a forensic chemist after university. I had a summer job 2 years ago where I was working in an X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy Room and performed Nickel tests on products for 3 months.  I am glad that I can have work experience which relates to Chemistry.The university has helped me to prepare for my career by organising a careers talk every year. I learnt new skills about writing my CV and know more about the different kinds of job I can do after I graduate. Also I receive emails about available jobs every week from the Careers Service.
Leave a Reply

