Iqra from Pakistan

Name: Iqra Jilani

Course: Biomedical Science

Hi! My name is Iqra and I am a third year BSc Biomedical Science student. I am from Pakistan, but I was born and raised in Dubai which is part of UAE. I can speak Urdu and English but I am also learning to speak French.

In my spare time I am part of VolCom – the University’s volunteering committee. We organise different volunteering opportunities all over Sheffield throughout the year which is lots of fun, especially ’24 Hour Volunteering’ which involved different projects taking place during a single 24 hour period. I always enjoy astronomy – staring at the stars trying to grasp the vastness of the universe.

iqra-jilani

Why did you choose to study your course?

Choosing a course to study is always a daunting process. I’ve had my fair share of doubts but the reason for choosing biomedical science is due to the vastness of the subject. It allows me to explore all aspects of the human body and the diseases that may befall it and I have the opportunity to explore different areas of biology in order to not only understand the abnormality but also research towards a possible cure.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

Being a science nerd, Sheffield attracted me due to its ground breaking research programs and a hands on approach to teaching. For example, second year students get to explore the anatomy of the human body independently. As well as the academic aspects your university experience is about learning different skills and having the UK’s No. 1 Students’ Union which enables us to not only try out different sports but also to enjoy cultural activities which explore the traditions of the world from the comfort of what we call our home, the University of Sheffield!

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

The people! Sheffield houses some of the world’s most inspirational and talented lecturers that not only educate you but entice your curiosity, make you question and find the answers. The lecturers make learning interactive and thought provoking.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

Sheffield is a green city from the parks to the Peaks. Its pure beauty and the ability to see the sky erupt into millions of glimmering stars every night, allowing us to appreciate the beauty of the universe is perhaps one of my favourite thing about living in Sheffield. I also like having access to amazing affordable accommodation which is only minutes away from campus. Sheffield is a safe student city bustling with life and the university is centrally located so you can go from studying in the library to relaxing in town within minutes at any time.

What do you hope to do in the future?

After university I plan on working in drug development – researching diseases and trying to find the best drug to contain and hopefully cure it. The university provides opportunities to explore the world of research through the ‘Sheffield Undergraduate Research Scheme’ (SURE). I have had the opportunity to go through this 6 week research scheme by working in labs and looking into cell-to-cell communication and heterogeneity through calcium dynamics. This has provided me with extensive lab skills which are needed for research in the working world

Leave a Reply

