Ana from Romania

Name: Ana Amariutei
Course: Biomedical Science
My name is Ana and I am a second year Biomedical Science student at the University of Sheffield. I am from Romania and I love volunteering in activities that have a positive impact on people’s lives. I like walking, travelling and spending my time reading about new science discoveries. During my first year at the university, I invested my free time in hanging out with my new friends, exploring the city and taking part in activities organised by the university and the Students’ Union.
Ana Amariutei.png

Why did you choose to study your course?

Since I was little and I was playing the doctor-patient game I always wanted to be able to find the best treatments for my patients and treat them without pain. In turn, whenever I went to the doctor I would pay attention to my treatment and medication and always asked many questions. The more answers I got, the more questions it raised, and I wanted to know and understand more about human biology, its perfection and flaws. For several years I offered support to children suffering from cancer. They are my source of inspiration in choosing this course, hoping that one day a cure will be found or at least ways to improve the treatments practised now.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

My sister is an alumni of University of Sheffield and she always talked about the high educational services and facilities the university provides for its students. I read about the Biomedical Science Department and I learned it was the UK’s number one for medical research and top five for biological research. BioMed at the University of Sheffield is one of the few undergraduate courses in the UK that involves anatomy modules where you have the opportunity to be involved in the dissection of human cadavers, providing a deeper understanding of the subject. The level of teaching, the facilities and the top research are just a few of the things that made the decision to come here very easy.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

There are lots of things that I like at the University of Sheffield. First of all, one of my favourite things about it is the relationship between the student and lecturer and the way that no matter what question you have, you will be given an answer. Secondly, there are lots of societies where you can meet people from your course or other departments. As part of my studies I have had the chance to take part in interdisciplinary courses such as Breaking Boundaries which contributes to your development as a future scientist and increases the educational level of the course. Students at the University of Sheffield have limitless opportunities, resources and experiences, and I felt welcomed and free to choose what peaks my interest.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

I love living in Sheffield, students here are very fortunate to have some of the greatest places to walk such as in the Peak District and it is a wonderful area to observe and connect to the nature. Sheffield is a very green and friendly city and most of the accommodation buildings are placed around lovely areas surrounded by parks and are quite close to the city centre, shops and places where you can go out with your friends.

I think every student choosing their future university tries to find a compromise between what the heart wants and what the mind needs. I look back and I know that when I chose University of Sheffield, I chose for both.

What do you hope to do in the future?
With an interest in cancer diagnosis and treatments, in the future I would like to work as a medical researcher. The University of Sheffield provides updated information regarding new discoveries during the lectures and we often have free discussions based on new scientific papers or lab techniques. Students here have the opportunity to acquire experience in the lab as part of the practical classes, knowledge through courses and access to scientific journals and are constantly challenged to think and expand their horizon. We are encouraged to do internships during our course in order to gain as much experience and skills as possible.

Leave a Reply

