Rebecca from Malaysia

rebecca-low

Name: Rebecca Ghar Yin Low

Course: BSc Psychology

Hello people! My name is Rebecca Low and I am from Malaysia. Western Bank Library is my favourite study spot but you might see me getting distracted by the ducks rather than working on my assignments.

I am also the Media Officer for the Malaysian and Singaporean Society (MASSOC), I manage its social media platforms as well as taking photos of the society’s events. I enjoy photos taken by the university’s photographer (@es_kwon on Instagram) and every day at Sheffield I hope to be able to see him in action.

Why did you choose to study your course?

From the study of human’s private cognitive processes, to the mechanisms of anti-depressant drugs to how people change their behaviours according to their social environment, I have always viewed psychology as the amalgamation between hard science subjects (biology, physics, mathematics and chemistry) and human’s fascination of themselves.At the same time, a good psychologist requires transferable skills such as good verbal and writing skills and the ability to gather and interpret data. In short, I chose psychology for its interesting and challenging nature, as well as honing myself to be an independent, critical and flexible thinker by studying it.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

I chose University of Sheffield for its supportive atmosphere and good quality of teaching.A centralised campus filled with buildings of various architecture style and surrounded by friendly, lively and motivated people. This was the impression that formed when I first browsed through the university’s website and Instagram account. Then, I had decided that I want to be part of this community.

Academic wise, the Department of Psychology is rated highly for its research power, with outstanding research being conducted by the department’s staff. Throughout the degree I will be able to learn and receive feedback directly from these bright researchers and academic staffs. This sets my mind on the University of Sheffield.

9 months in and I do not regret my choice.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

My favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield is its environment that supports students to develop into well-rounded individuals.For instance, courses are structured such that students are able to learn subjects outside the scope of their degree. At the end of my first year, I have learnt to speak basic fluent Japanese and have a general understanding of Chinese Culture and Society, despite being a psychology student!

The university and the Students’ Union also run many positions and activities for students to take part and learn from. I was part of SSID’s Students Communication Ambassador team, writing blogs from a student’s perspective. My communication skills have improved greatly after taking up this role. The opportunities are endless and it’s up to us students as to whether we want to take advantage of these chances or not.

Do you like living in Sheffield

I spent my first year living in university accommodation, Endcliffe. At Endcliffe, I made friends and certainly enjoyed the pub bingo sessions with my flatmates, as well as cooking and visiting places with them.

Also, the size of Sheffield is quite manageable for an international student like me (and you!), everything you need is within walking distance, making life abroad less overwhelming. People of Sheffield are very friendly too! I was once advised by a kind elderly man to wear a thicker coat, he definitely warmed me up from the inside without me wearing one.

What do you hope to do in the future?

The career opportunities associated with the field of psychology are endless, ranging from positions in clinical settings to jobs within corporate companies. While completing a degree in psychology helps me to explore these options by having a better understanding of them, I have my mind set on Organisational Psychology, preferably human resource roles.Although I will not be exposed to Organisational Psychology until the third year of my course, the university provides great schemes in which I was able to reaffirm that my interest is really in that field. For example, under the Career Services’ e-mentoring scheme, I gained real life insights by having a mentor who’s already working as a Human Resource Manager.
Leave a Reply

