Mohamed from Egypt

mohamed-elghazaly

Name: Mohamed ElGhazaly 

Course: Biomedical Science

Hello! My name is Mohamed ElGhazaly and I am a third year Biomedical Science student. I am from Cairo, Egypt but I live in the United Arab Emirates. My hobbies include horse riding, playing tennis, volunteering and taking part in activities around the Students’ Union such as being a committee member in societies. I also enjoy travelling across cities and countries. In addition, I enjoy reading fiction books and I am a big Harry Potter fan!

Why did you choose to study your course?

I have always been interested in finding out more about the human body and its complicated systems. My favourite subjects at A Level were Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics (especially Statistics) and IT. When I was researching undergraduate courses during my final year of high school, I realised that Biomedical Science is the degree for me as it combines all my favourite subjects to study and research the human body. I read more around the subject which attracted me even more to the course. It is a very fascinating field which I believe will grow in the near future.

Why did you choose the University of Sheffield?

The University of Sheffield is a Russell Group university with excellent researchers and state-of-the-art facilities. It only made sense that I choose it as the place I would spend my three undergraduate years to develop myself as a young researcher. The University of Sheffield is international and has had the top Students’ Union in the UK for 8 years in a row (6 years when I entered university) with more than 300 societies to get involved in. This guaranteed that I will find something to be engaged with in my free time. Furthermore, Sheffield is home to multiple Nobel Prize winners which demonstrates the strength of its academics and researchers. I also visited the University and city prior the start of the academic year, and was amazed at how friendly the people are.

What is your favourite thing about being at the University of Sheffield?

The University of Sheffield has a very vibrant community. There is always something for students to participate in. It provides students with new experiences which develops the students’ personalities. There is not a single thing that I can call my favourite, but what I really appreciate is how approachable the lecturers are, and their excellence in teaching. They are always glad to help whenever any student struggles. The University also provides a lot of support to students in terms of job applications and interviews. I believe the great support provided by the University is what makes it truly special.

Do you like living in Sheffield?

Absolutely! University of Sheffield has the top accommodation in the UK which provides a very safe environment for students to live in. You have the option to live in a student village surrounded by nature, or nearer to the city centre. This means there is a choice for anyone’s preference. Both are within walking distance to the University.The city centre encompasses many shops (most offer student discounts!) and holds many mesmerising events for occasions such as Christmas fairs.

Sheffield is one of the greenest cities in the UK with parks that provide a relaxing environment for students to relax during and/or outside studies.

What do you hope to do in the future?

My passion lies within research and I aspire to become a research scientist in the future, specifically in the field of Neuroscience.I took part in the Sheffield Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE) scheme operated by the University and the Department of Biomedical Science, which provided me with a rewarding research experience. The Career Development Skills module run by the department aims to develop students’ knowledge related to their careers, whether it is research or any other career path. This module together with the University’s careers service, gave me valuable advice to succeed when applying for part time jobs.
Leave a Reply

